Echo from Amazon

The following is from Lauren Tappan.

Amazon Echo Amazon Official Site Alexa Enabled

    As a low-vision user of assistive technology, I’m always interested in new products. There is a visually impaired support group at Sun City Center in Florida that is looking at a product called Echo which is connected to Amazon. Evidently, you can use this product to read books to you as you would with the iPad. It has many other features that might be of some help to a low-vision user. I am investigating to see if the Echo would not only read books to you, but also your email. All of this is done with verbal commands. I have found the iPad features to be just as useful. I am now reading about 6 books using my iPad, as well as being able to use my iPad to arrange for Lyft rides and look through my emails while I’m away from my home. As low-vision users of assistive technology, we have to be our own advocates and investigate what technologies are out there that would be most useful to us in our daily lives.

Lauren

Leave a Reply

