More Info on the Book Eye4 Scanner

The following is from Lauren Tappan.

Many University libraries’ now have the Book Eye 4.  Jack Mitchell from Indigo Logics,
Johnathon Kirk from the Duke Eye Center, my husband and I met at the Duke Library with
the goal of using the Book Eye 4, my I-Pad and the KNFB Reader to have scanned files
read to me.
The Book Eye 4 is a great document scanner that will allow you to send scanned documents to a thumb drive or PDF file.  It has large print on the navigational desk top so it would be easy for a low-vision user.
   My goal was to scan a document on the Book Eye 4 and send this
scanned document to my I-Pad e-mail program.
   Unfortunately, my I-Pad Voice Over does not read PDF files so we were trying to
figure out a way to have these scanned documents read.
  Jack Mitchell showed us how we can send the PDF file to my KNFB Reader ap
where the document can be saved and read to me in a timely fashion.
   As a low-vision user of these devices, I was looking for a quick and easy
scanning system that would allow me to scan at least 20 pages at a time.
When I have tried to use the KNFB Reader to scan material sometimes
my hands are not steady enough and I don’t get a clear copy of the page.
  Jack Mitchell showed us a way to arrange the I-Pad on a flat surface,
exposing the camera and then being able to use the I_pad and KNFB
Reader like the Book Eye 4 scanner.
  It sounds complicated but once you know the system things go quickly.
Lauren
Leave a Reply

