iPhone AP for Low Vision Movie Goers

by Maurie Hill, AISquared blog

On a recent rainy afternoon, I ventured to our local movie theater to watch “Philomena”.  I had the best movie experience since losing my 20/20 vision roughly 30 years ago.  Stargardt Disease (similar to macular degeneration) has gradually robbed my ability to read text on the big screen, identify characters’ faces or expressions at times, and pick up important details or actions, no matter how close I sit.  So what was different this time around?  As I mentioned a few weeks ago, I was anxious to try theMovieReading App on my iPhone as soon as “Philomena” came to town.  The app allowed me to hear details I would normally miss, and it more than confirmed the idea that this app is the easiest solution for those who are sight-impaired and still want to enjoy movies and television.

The movie “Philomena” was phenomenal and most of all, I knew what everyone was laughing or crying about because a pleasant voice in my ear told me what my eyes are not able to.

The MovieReading app was extremely easy to use.  It uses the microphone on your device to determine where the playback is at, and then automatically syncs with the movie’s soundtrack within seconds.  Though I arrived to the movie early, getting to the movie theater a little late is not a problem because it will sync.  You just hear the audio description and reading of any text on the screen (such as subtitles and credits) through your headphones; the rest of the movie you listen just like everyone else through the theater’s speakers.

For more info:  http://www.aisquared.com/blog/2014/01/disability-need-not-be-barrier-for-moviegoers/?utm_source=ZoomNews+from+Ai+Squared&utm_campaign=e71e0f58ed-Blog+Summary+%2376&utm_medium=email&utm_term=0_4fc312fd04-e71e0f58ed-51614546

Leave a Reply

